Clicky

Legal/Criminal Issues Of Uploading Gaming Videos?

Discussion in 'YouTube Monetization & Copyright' started by coreydragon, Jun 20, 2015.

1. coreydragon

coreydragon New Member

Hi,

I am new to all of this. I love playing videogames and love commenting when playing. I am concerned though about the legal issues that come from uploading gameplay footage to youtube. Is there any way a big company like Bethesda, Rockstar etc would sue a gamer? I figure the best way is to get permission from the publisher right? !

Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
    Jay Carsen likes this.
  2. TheRedRyuda

TheRedRyuda Member

From my understanding most times they'll either just place ads on your video and make money for themselves or have it taken down. As long as you're not going out of your way to defy them, and you follow what their policies are, I don't think you should have any legal trouble.

Jay Carsen likes this.
  3. coreydragon

coreydragon New Member

Thanks for the reply :) Is there any way the publisher could bring criminal charges against me? I am talking big publishers like Bethesda and others? I am planning to only upload gaming videos from publishers who allow it. Are there any steps I should take to make sure everything is ok/legal?

4. TheRedRyuda

TheRedRyuda Member

Well I'm not a lawyer, so what I'm saying should be taken with a grain of salt, but from my understanding they won't unless they content id your video and you continually try to appeal it. Bethesda allows lets plays and the like, but won't let you monetize the videos, so as long as you're just uploading them without ads you should be fine. Check the policies and user agreements to see if a game's IP owners allow you to do let's plays or the like, whether or not they allow monetization (if that's unimportant, disregard this part).