Is it worth joining a Network at this stage?

Cub

Hi,

I am quite new to YouTube as a content creator and I've seen many things about being part of a Network but I couldn't really decide weather it is worth joining a network at a stage like I am in right now (~20 subs/700 views), not for the payments but more for the promotion and help.

I am sure there are many people with experience who could give me some advice,I'd be really glad if you do! :D

Cheers!

Zyksnys

A partner just don't sudden help you, keep that in mind, their goal is to make money like every commercial business.

IMO you don't need partnership yet, you get ads for a few cents a month and those ads might scare new viewers away which you can't afford on a early stage. You want ofcourse as much engagement, viewers and subscribers as fast as possible and I think that step is easier when there is nothing in the way (like ads). I use this strategy for my own channel as well. I only have 63 subscribers, which isn't a lot either.

Armaedus

I am not part of any network, and as long as they continue to follow the current business model, I never will be. And here's why. Keep in mind, I'm not saying networks are bad or that you shouldn't join one. I'm just pointing out simple facts that most people overlook.

If you're not a large channel generating millions of views a month they will invest very little time or money into you or your channel. Meaning they aren't going to do anything to help promote you or help you grow. The reason is pretty straight forward. You give them a percentage of your ad revenue. If their cut of your ad revenue isn't large enough to exceed their cost in resources needed to promote you, etc. They're not going to do it. It's simple business 101 right there.

For the top Youtubers, Networks provide all sorts of stuff including promotion, legal representation, agents, etc. As small Youtubers, they will never provide that stuff to us.